I feel sick. Nervous sick. Not having a literary agent for my book, I know that the main slog of marketing falls onto my shoulders, that doesn’t bother me so much. I can send out emails, I’m used to the “we’re planning on going in another direction” emails. What I’m not used to is “we’ll be there tomorrow at 2”

So now I feel sick.

I am not a people person. Anytime I need to go to an event, I have to psych myself up to walk in the door, and that’s not even having to talk to anyone! How am I going to talk to people who are going to ask me probing questions? Where I need to spin a story in bite-sized segments for a stranger to take notes and photograph and… could someone pass me that paper bag please?

*

*

That’s better.

Actually It went better than I thought. John -the interviewer, yes I had to look up his name- was the picture of gentlemanly courtesy. Perhaps he was used to first timers nerves, being the veteran he is. The photographer -I was introduced, but honestly, it could have been Richard Armitage himself, and I’m not sure I would have remembered his name- had a great sense of humour. They completely put me at ease. Odd, since it was in my comfort grounds. As my first ever proper interview for my book, I can’t imagine it could have gone any better.

There are two reasons for this post. Firstly, even though the chance of them reading this is incredibly slim, I wanted to make sure these guys were thanked. Publicly and explicitly. Secondly, I want to once again encourage any of you budding writers out there. Marketing is a lot of work, and a lot of rejection. When you do get through though, it’s so worth it!

Good luck!!

