As I said in my last post, I’ve had a few things going on in my life that have kept me away from serious writing. I won’t go into detail, needless to say though, I have bruises where there shouldn’t be bruises and bare skin where it should be covered. I’ve also had the chance to complete my clinical placement for IV meds. That was amazing! I told everyone that I wasn’t nervous about it, and it was true for the most part. The fundamentals of nursing are always going to be the same, wherever you go. After ten years in aged care, I know how to wash someone, how to take obs, how to look for and identify a decline in health.

That might be the issue though. I’m good at what I know, I know high care dementia.

Recently, I decided that since I was doing my upskilling, I should familiarise myself with acute care, so I joined an agency. That was some serious culture shock! It was taken for granted (by myself, the agency, and the hospitals I was placed in; that I knew what I was doing. I’ll most likely do another blog on that experience as I’m sure I’m not the only one looking to change fields, and I’d love to see if your experiences were similar.

The reason I bring it up, is  that the experience I had there was one of the reasons I was less than confident.

Because of this, I was pleasantly surprised when on day one, the support I got from my team, and the patience they showed me really pressed home how much I want to do this. I love being a nurse. I love the impact I can have on a family who has no idea what’s going on. I love bringing a smile to a persons face when they have their pain treated and hear the hundreds of stories they are aching to share. Even if, as my first day showed me, if it’s the sad responsibility of noting a patient’s decline and needing to spend the extra time reassuring the family that you will do everything you can to make sure they are looked after. I could never do another job and it’s nice to have the reassurance that I made the right choice sometimes.

🙂

