That title may be a little misleading. See I’m not making a resolution this year. In my history, every resolution I’ve made has been promptly forgotten. This year, I’m starting a new chapter, literally and metaphorically. The literal part of that speaks for itself, I haven’t hidden that I write, I will always have new chapters to churn out. I have one on the go at the moment that should tie up the last book of my South Forsaken series nicely. The metaphorical part may have something to say about my time management skills though.

NYE 2015 has been perfectly positioned, through no manipulation of my own, to bisect a huge transition in my life. I’ve worked in aged care for nearly ten years now. Those of you who have read my admittedly sporadic blog posts will know that I have been planning a working holiday. This will be postponed because as of the first week of Jan, I start work in the hospital!

I’m sure there are those of you out there saying “but nursing is still nursing right?” You’re not wrong, but there is more to it than that. I’m not sure what the simile to another career would be. Perhaps If you move from logistics in a big building to sales? It’s something you know the fundamentals of, and you’ve done all the training for, but now you have to retrain yourself to focus on a whole new set of responsibilities. I have had a little experience in the acute sector, and I know that it is going to be a very steep learning curve for me. If you’re a nurse that has any advice, I’d love to hear it! I will do my best to document the highs and lows of this as I’m sure I’m not the only one looking to make changes this year. At least, you’ll have something to hold your experiences up to and think ‘well maybe I don’t have it so uniquely difficult.’ Are you making any huge changes this year?

If you’re a nurse that has any advice, I’d love to hear it! I will do my best to document the highs and lows of this as I’m sure I’m not the only one looking to make changes this year. At least, you’ll have something to hold your experiences up to and think ‘well maybe I don’t have it so uniquely difficult.’ Are you making any huge changes this year?

Are you making any huge changes this year? I make a terrifically awful agony aunt, but maybe telling a stranger what you hope to achieve in an anonymous comment box will give you the motivation to start?

#This is me pretending to be agony aunt.# 20150822_161614

